The Paris-Roubaix was just another day for the Tour de France contenders.

The main course of the stage was not one of the toughest of the year, but it was also not one to miss.

As usual, it was a day of the sprinters and a day for those in the breakaways.

That made the pelotons day one, which was a little disappointing.

It was an excellent day to get back in the saddle, but there were still too many big crashes.

The big winner of the day was Chris Froome, who got his first stage win since March of 2017.

He rode the stage to the finish of the race in a solo bid to become the first Tour de Flanders winner since Robert Gesink in 1983.

The day was full of drama.

Froome was hit by the wheel of the team car, injuring his ankle and forcing him to rest.

He came back and finished the race.

The other three riders in the sprints were Michael Matthews (Giant-Alpecin), Bradley Wiggins (Sky) and Adam Yates (Orica-Scott).

There were many more crashes in the pelodynamic breakaway, but none of them could affect the final time trial.

The overall classification was: 1.

Chris Froomes (GBr) Team Sky 2.

Bradley Wiggins/Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Orica-GreenEdge 3.

Adam Yates/Orica GreenEdge 4.

Simon Yates (GBx) Overeem 5.

Robert Gesick (Ned) Sky 6.

Michael Matthews/Omega Pharma-QuickStep 7.

Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 8.

Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac 9.

Michael Rogers/Lotto Soudal 10.

Adam Blythe/Cannondale 11.

Adam Peña (Sp) Omega Pharma-Qhubeka 12.

Michael Albasini (Sp), Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 13.

Mark Cavendish (GB) Omega Pro Team 14.

Alberto Losada (Sp ) Movistar Team 15.

Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannontes 16.

Fabio Aru (Iti) Astana Pro Team 17.

Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Katusha 18.

Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack Leopard 19.

David Lopez (Sp,) Cannons-Shimano 20.

Kristian House (GBa) Radio Shimano 21.

David Arroyo (Spo) Lampre-Merida 22.

Diego Ulissi (Ito) Cannonds-Shimsano 23.

Matteo Trentin (It) Oostende-Bosch 24.

Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Radio Shack Leopard 25.

Diego Rubio (Spn) RadioSchleck 26.

Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Tech 3 Quick-Step Cycling Team 27.

Matte van Poppel (NED) Radio Schleck 28.

Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar team 29.

Danilo Wyss (Swo) Radio Sonderschaft 30.

Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannonding-Lampre- Merida 31.

Alberto Sancho (Spi) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 32.

Gianluca Brambilla (Itr) Omega-Pro Team 33.

Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Southend 34.

Fabien Grellier (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 35.

Pierre Rolland (Fra), FDJ 36.

Adam Hansen (Aus) Cann Liquigas 37.

Tom Dumoulin (Neb) Sky 38.

Michael Van Staeyen (Bel ) Cannondales 39.

Jurgen Van De Walle (Bel ‘Climb’) 40.

Simon Geschke (Ger) Team LottoNL-Jumbo 41.

Jens Debusschere (Bel / France) Team Argos-Shams 40.

Tom Jelte Slagter (Nee) Team Novo Nordisk 42.

Jann Mardenborough (NZl) Radio-Shack Ligier 43.

Sylvain Chavanel (Fra/FRA) RadioSens 43.

David de la Cruz (Sp/Ned/Aus/Can) Team Sunweb 44.

Daniel Oss (Itm) Cann Cycling Team 45.

Rohan Dennis (Au) O2 Aqua Blue Sport 46.

Adam Haga (USA/NZl/Can/Dru) Sky 47.

Alexander Porsev (Rus) Team Katusha 48.

Thomas De Gendt (Bel/Gael) Sky 49.

Christophe Laporte (Fra / France/NED/AUS) Omega Breda 50.

Daniel Van Buyten (Bel +1/Netherlands) Sky 51.

Pierre Roger Latour (